Recognising local grassroots heroes

Rewarding those who make a real difference in grassroots football...

The Sussex County FA awards offer a chance to all those involved in grassroots football to shout about the person, or team of people that have made a real difference to their experience whilst playing or just being involved in the beautiful game.

Winners are awarded at a county, regional and national level so there’s plenty of opportunity for grassroots football heroes across the country to be recognised.

Presentation of awards to successful nominees takes place at the Sussex County FA Awards Evening held annually in September.

Long Service Awards

The FA and Sussex County FA presents Long Service Awards to Council Members, Club Officials and League Officials who have completed the following continuous service within Sussex:
  • 15 Years - Bronze County FA pin badge and certificate
  • 25 Years - Silver County FA pin badge and certificate
  • 35 Years - Gold County FA pin badge and certificate
  • 50 Years - FA Medallion with pin badge and certificate

How to nominate:
Nominations are open all year and are made by completing the Long Service Award nomination form (below) and submitting it to the Sussex County FA for verification - note: self-nominations are encouraged.

Referee - Long Service Awards

To appropriately reward the continuous activity of referees, as well as those who support them.

Find out more

The FA Community Awards presented by McDonalds

The awards aim to recognise and reward people across the country that make a difference to grassroots football in their local community - the people who dedicate their time to developing tomorrow’s young talent and help ensure safety and best practice in tens of thousands of clubs up and down the country.

The FA Community Award categories are: 

  • The FA Charter Standard Community Club Award
  • The FA Charter Standard Development Club Award
  • The FA Charter Standard Club Award
  • The FA Charter Standard League of the Year Award
  • Best Inclusive Project Award
  • Coach of the Year 
  • People’s Award (Outstanding Contribution to Community Football)
  • Young Volunteer of the Year Award

All the above nominations are put forward to The FA South East Regional Judging Panel. The South East Regional Winner will go on to represent the region in the national awards with their nomination put forward to the national judging panel.

National Award winners are announced at The FA Community Awards Ceremony, presented by McDonalds which is held at The FA Community Shield in August at Wembley Stadium.

How to nominate:
The FA Community Awards online nomination window opens in February and closes in March of each year.

The FA Respect Awards

Each year, The FA seeks out the clubs, leagues and individuals that make football a better game across the country. These are the champions of Respect - people prepared to go the extra mile to ensure football is fair, enjoyable and safe.

The FA looks for nominees who achieve this through one of the following:

  • Educating teams, coaches, spectators or players
  • Encouraging players, coaches, spectators or teams to strive for high standards of behaviour
  • Dealing with poor behaviour, incentivising good behaviour
  • Recruiting, retaining and valuing referees
  • Improving a situation of established poor behaviour
  • Campaigning in an effective and persuasive way
  • The work of individuals that have improved the environment in which the game takes place
  • A spontaneous act of fair play or kindness that demonstrates respect in the game

In total sixteen awards are made, including the prestigious Bobby Moore Trophy which recognises an exceptional individual contribution. A range of prizes are awarded which include cash prizes, coaching bursaries, guest appearances by football speakers and hospitality at England games.

All winners will be invited to an awards ceremony and lunch prior to the FA Community Shield at Wembley Stadium in August. 

How to nominate:
Self-nominations or nominations made by a friend, relative, team-mate or any third party are all acceptable. All nominations considered by The FA are subject to reference or endorsement checks with the relevant club, league or association. The application process can be done quickly online with the window open annually from May to June.

FA Groundsman of the Year Awards

The Award was set up to encourage the development of groundsmanship and recognise the contribution of these unsung heroes of the grassroots game, who work in all weather, all year round, to make sure that thousands of matches can take place on a high standard of playing surface.

 There are separate awards for the following:

  • The Football Conference (Steps 1 and 2)
  • Northern Premier League
  • Southern League
  • Isthmian League
  • Steps 3 and 4 National Award
  • Steps 5 and 6 National Award
  • Step 7 and below National Award

Step 1 to 6 clubs are nominated by their respective Leagues, while Step 7 and below Clubs are nominated by their County FA. The top recommendations from each League and County are visited by judges from The FA.

Winning groundsmen in each category are presented with a trophy at their respective home grounds on the day of a pre-season friendly or league game and then are recognised again at The Groundsman of the Year Awards Presentation Evening which brings together all the award winners, runners-up and highly commended groundsmen for a day at St. George’s Park which includes lunch, a tour of the facility and the awards presentation.

How to nominate:
Nominations open in January and close February with self-nominations encouraged.

Get In Touch

Phone: 01903 766855
(9:00am - 5:00pm, Monday to Friday)