Sunday 11 July 2021 marked 40 years since we moved to our headquarters of Culver Road in Lancing, and to celebrate the occasion, we linked up with local football blogger, David Bauckham, to look back on its rich history.
Culver Road is also home to Lancing FC whose history at the ground goes back to 1938 when 11 youngsters began to organise regular kickabouts on the Monks Farm Recreation Ground.
Originally, Lancing played at the Croshaw ground which, in 1951, was deemed inadequate for County League football and so the club searched elsewhere for a new home.
The club obtained a piece of land north of Culver Road which, for many years, had been covered in farmland. Negotiations began to lease part of Monks Farm Recreation Ground from the Parish Council to complete the area required for their new ground.
A public appeal to raise the necessary funds was launched as well as a loan of £1,200 from The FA, which was repaid at £90 a year for 15 years. The Supporters Club agreed to this repayment and also subsequent rent due to Monks Farm Rec.
Later that year in 1951, work began on a new seated stand, which was made ready for the 1952-53 season. The first fixture played at Culver Road between Lancing and Bexhill United was before the stand was ready, and so the players were made to get changed at Croshaw before being taxied to Culver Road.