Peacehaven & Telscombe win the Sussex Principal RUR Charity Cup

Peacehaven defy odds to win RUR Cup

Peacehaven & Telscombe 3 - 0 Haywards Heath Town

A perfect performance from Peacehaven & Telscombe clinched the Sussex Principal RUR Charity Cup as they dominated Haywards Heath Town in the final at Culver Road on Bank Holiday Monday afternoon.

A John Elliot strike and a penalty from Jake Brocklebank secured the result, and Charlie Durling’s goal late on added extra gloss to the scorelline for Peacehaven, who were the better side from start to finish despite Heath coming into the match as strong favourites to lift the trophy.

Despite sporting the ‘underdog’ tag, Peacehaven started the game brightly, matching their higher-level opponents early on and enjoying decent spells as the game grew into adolescence.

They managed to convert their initial promise into an early goal in the 19th minute as Curtis Ford smartly brought down a lumped ball forwards and fed Elliot, who slid the ball underneath the goalkeeper to put the Sothern Combination Football League Premier Division side a goal to the good.

They had a fantastic chance to double their advantage almost immediately when Callum Hart was found unmarked in the box, but his first-time swing at the ball failed to connect cleanly and bounced wide of the goal.

Meanwhile, the attacking threat of Haywards Heath began to diminish as they struggled to keep up with the intensity and quick footwork of their opponents.

Things went from good to even better for Peacehaven eight minutes before the interval thanks to Brocklebank, who sent Anthony Ender the wrong way from the penalty spot after Hart was shoved in the back by Sean Roddy inside the area.

The young midfielder came close to another just five minutes later with a well-hit free-kick which was diverted wide by the Haywards Heath wall.

Peacehaven resumed their surprising dominance of the match after the restart, coming within inches of a third after 47 minutes with Ford’s shot rippling the side-netting.

The striker had another chance to net his second six minutes later but failed to divert a deep cross goalwards after being found from out wide.

Goalkeeper Alleu Secka was finally forced into making a save in anger on the hour mark, parrying wide Karl Akehurst’s headed effort, before Peacehaven were awarded another penalty five minutes later with Callum Saunders bringing down Hart as he ventured into the area.

However, the tie-killer eluded them in this instance as Brocklebank blazed his effort from twelve yards well clear of the crossbar.

Nevertheless, the one-way traffic continued as Peacehaven dominated both possession and chances, whereas Haywards Heath, stunned by the scoreline, kept trying in vain to claw their way back into the match.

The Bostik South outfit looked dejected and devoid of confidence and drive, as their opponents continued to pick them apart, unlocking the defence time and time again.

A third Peacehaven goal looked inevitable, and it arrived with nine minutes remaining through Durling, who bundled the ball over the line during a goalmouth scramble to end the match as a contest and cap off a fantastic performance for his side, before Roddy was dismissed in stoppage time for Haywards Heath after picking up a second yellow card.

Peacehaven & Telscombe lift the Sussex Principal RUR Charity Cup
HIGHLIGHTS - Peacehaven & Telscombe vs. Haywards Heath Town
Watch Your Instant Replay's highlights of the Sussex Principal RUR Charity Cup Final between Peacehaven & Telscombe and Haywards Heath Town.

(A selection of photographs can be found on Facebook - courtesy of Simon Roe Photography)
(Video highlights are available above and also on YouTube - courtesy of Your Instant Replay)

Stats: (Peacehaven & Telscombe-Haywards Heath Town) 
Goals: 3-0; Shots: 6-4; Shots-on-target: 3-1; Corners: 5-6; Fouls: 9-11; Offside: 4-2; Yellow cards: 1-2; Red cards: 0-1.

Peacehaven & Telscombe: Secka, Kilula, Grant, Durling ©, Legrange, Brocklebank, Ford, Scrafton, Hart, Elliott, Wiltshire.
Subs: Cheeseman, Burton, Massen, Amarteiao, McDonnell.

Haywards Heath Town: Ender, Laing, Weston, Akehurst, Cooper ©, Roddy, Daly, Napper, Pogue, Saunders, Tutt.
Subs: Folkes, Archibald, Solomon, Broad, Bangura.

Match report by Archie Griggs

Related Match Reports

View All