Charter Standard

The FA’s Charter Standard Programme is an accreditation scheme for grassroots clubs. Supported by McDonald’s, it launched in 2001 with the goal of raising standards in amateur football, aiding the development clubs and recognising and rewarding them for their commitments and achievements.

Clubs can be awarded FA Charter Standard status after a rigorous checking process designed to assess how well run and sustainable they are. Other factors including child protection, coaching quality and the implementation of the Respect programme are also considered in the decision making process.

There are three levels of FA Charter Standard awards for clubs:
• Club - for youth and adult teams, the entry level accreditation
• Development Club - for teams clearly enhancing the quality and scope of their football offering
• Community Club - acknowledging the most advanced level of club development and football provision

For clubs who have FA Charter Standard accreditation, the challenge is to progress to the next level or to maintain their existing level. For clubs without FA Charter Standard status, the scheme provides aspirational points on its development journey.

The benefits of becoming an FA Charter Standard Club:
• Access to the McDonald’s FA Charter Standard kit scheme granting one free Nike team kit each season up until 2018 for under-7 to under-16 sides
• Free tickets (on application) for England youth and Women’s internationals
• Invitations to local events
• Access to administrative support sessions
• Support with funding applications

Securing FA Charter Standard Club status demonstrates to parents, sponsors and the public that the team is well organised, safe and provides opportunities for all. It also confirms the club has FA-qualified coaches as standard and adheres to FA Respect policies and codes of conduct, and prioritises child welfare as well as appropriate levels of discipline.

Charter Standard status also gives clubs access to County FA and FA regional workforces and allows them to use The FA crest on marketing and business materials.

New FA Charter Standard Clubs receive:
• An official FA plaque and certificate
• Resources to help promote the club
• £100 worth of official Nike match balls (FA Charter Standard Youth and Adult Clubs)
• £150 worth of official Nike match balls (FA Charter Standard Development Clubs)
• £200 worth of official Nike match balls (FA Charter Standard Community Clubs)
• Opportunity to become Nike Partner Club (FA Charter Standard Development and Community Clubs)

How to apply:
Any club affiliated to its County Football Association can apply for Charter Standard status. Simply complete an application form and return it to your local County FA. Feedback will be obtained from the league your club plays in to ensure it has met the criteria needed to attain Charter Standard status.

The FA Charter Standard Working Party will provide feedback on each application, which will include an action plan and a recommendation. If your club meets the criteria, the County FA will forward your application to The FA for awarding. If your club does not meet the criteria, your County FA will provide an action plan and advice.

The accreditation lasts for one season and will be renewed each year as part of the club re-affiliation process. It can be withdrawn if a club has a poor disciplinary record, fails to attend in-service FA Charter Standard events or is unable to continue to meet the criteria.

The criteria to achieve Charter Standard status:

Adult Club Award
• Provide the following documentation: club rules, copy of the clubs AGM Minutes, a set of recent committee meeting minutes, balance sheet and profit and loss account, equality policy and Respect codes of conduct
• Have at least one team playing in an FA-sanctioned league
• A good disciplinary record
• A qualified first aider with every team

Youth Club Award
• Provide the following documentation: club rules, copy of the clubs AGM Minutes, a set of recent committee meeting minutes, balance sheet and profit and loss account, equality policy, safeguarding children policy and Respect codes of conduct
• Having an FA-trained club welfare officer
• Criminal record checks (CRC) for volunteers involved in youth football teams
• An FA Level 1 coach for each youth team (under-18s and below)
• An FA Youth Award Module 1 coach for every four teams (under-18s and below)
• Coaches signed up to the FA Licensed Coaches Club

(Additional) Development Club Award
• A minimum of five teams covering at least four different age groups
• A football development plan for three to five years
• At least one Level 2 coach coaching one of the teams
• An FA Youth Award Module 2 coach for every six teams

(Additional) Community Club Award
• A minimum of ten teams covering mini-soccer, youth and adult football
• Has a minimum of one male and female team
• At least one coach who has attended the FA Youth Module 3 coaching one of the teams
• One person who has attended the FA Mentoring Adults course

For further information about Charter Standard accreditation please contact Development:

T: 01903 766855

McDonald's supporting community football
Facebook - Sussex County FA
Kit out your club
The FA Licensed Coaches' Club - Join today for free
Kick It Out
Twitter @SussexCountyFA
Community Clubs - Do you want to become a Nike Partner Club?